Bhante Anandajoti: The Four Spiritual States


This is a short talk I gave at the Vivekavana Office on the 3rd day of Chinese New year, in which I talked about how to make everyday an auspicious day by developing four great qualities of mind, and illustrated it with stories from the life of the Buddha and modern forest monks in Sri Lanka.

The four qualities of mind, otherwise known as the Four Spritual States (Brahmāvihāra) are:

  1. Mettā : Friendliness or Loving-Kindness
  2. Karuṇā : Kindness to Others or Compassion
  3. Muditā : Appreciative Joy or Gladness
  4. Upekkhā : Equanimity or Even-Mindedness

The first three involve the deveploment of attractive states of mind, and the fourth prevents the development of unattractive states of mind.


Audio clip: Adobe Flash Player (version 9 or above) is required to play this audio clip. Download the latest version here. You also need to have JavaScript enabled in your browser.

right click to download


Possibly Related Posts:

Leave a Reply




You can use these HTML tags

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>